I wasn’t aware I had no knowledge.

Crikey are quite correctly getting stuck into our Foreign Minister. I found their selective editing of his testimony at the Cole Inquiry amusing:

It could have been It may have been I don’t specifically recall I can’t precisely remember I don’t recall I don’t recall I couldn’t rule out It is possible I don’t know I’m not sure I have only a very distant recollection I don’t recall I don’t think I did I’m pretty sure I didn’t make a note I don’t recall I could have done I don’t recall it I don’t recall I simply do not recall

I would have made a note of it and been quite focused I might have turned out to be wrong I don’t recall I don’t recall I don’t recall I don’t recall I wouldn’t use that language I don’t remember precisely It didn’t mean anything to me It doesn’t mean anything to me I wouldn’t recognise him Nothing at all I don’t read the summaries unless I’m stuck on a plane I have no idea I have no idea I can’t recall I gave no such direction I don’t recall I didn’t make any notes I just don’t recall I can’t answer that question I can’t recall my state of mind

I don’t recall I simply do not recall I do not recall I can’t quite find the place I don’t recall I simply do not recall I don’t recall I don’t recall I don’t recall I’d have to reflect on that

I don’t recall I don’t recall I’m not sure I don’t know I don’t recall It is sketchy very sketchy I can’t tell you I wasn’t aware There is so much intelligence It’s a very major challenge to deal with intelligence I have no recollection of it I just can’t recall it at all I have no recollection I have no recollection Information flows appear to be very imperfect I was not aware

I don’t know I don’t know I can’t recall I’m not aware I can’t recall I don’t know I don’t recall I assumed I don’t recall We had no knowledge I can’t specifically recall I can’t recall

I just can’t specifically recall It’s very difficult to recall I’m not sure that I’m not sure I wasn’t sure I can’t specifically recall I don’t recall I don’t know I can’t say I just don’t know

I don’t have any specific recollection I’m not aware I wasn’t aware I had no knowledge I wasn’t aware I wasn’t aware I wasn’t aware I just can’t recall.

It will be interesting to see if the PM does get back to Commissioner Cole on Crikey’s question:

[T]he Prime Minister told Cole that he could not “with certainty say yes or no” as to whether any written record was kept in his office as to which pieces of unassessed intelligence were brought to his attention. He said he “would have to check that” …

We wouldn’t like the Commissioner to receive an insufficient answer in relation to written records of who saw unassessed intelligence, would we?

4 Comments

Filed under austray-ya, pol econ, quotes

4 responses to “I wasn’t aware I had no knowledge.

  1. They should make a song.

    Pauline pants-down style.

  2. gringo

    hey!

    what are you doing commenting on my blog, you conniving little so and so?

  3. gringo

    good idea, but.

  4. long time reader first time commenter

Leave a Reply

